Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Indie Booksellers Choice Awards, Ondaatje Prize

Winners were announced Monday for the 1st Annual Indie Booksellers Choice Awards.
The winners are:

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade Books)
The Instructions by Adam Levin (McSweeney's)
The Singer's Gun by Emily St. John Mandel (Unbridled)
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes (Grove/Atlantic)
Wingshooters by Nina Revoyr (Akashic)

Also just announced: The Hare with Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waal has been awarded the 2011 Royal Society of Literature's Ondaatje Prize. The award is given "for a distinguished work of fiction, nonfiction, or poetry, evoking the spirit of a place."
The shortlist for the prize included:
The Butterfly Isles by Patrick Barkham (Granta)
In a Strange Room by Damon Galgut (Atlantic Books)
Saraswati Park by Anjali Joseph (Fourth Estate)
Landed by Tim Pears (Heinemann)
Red Plenty by Francis Spufford (Faber)

No comments:

Post a Comment