Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Ezra Jack Keats Award and Caine Prize for African Writing

This year's Ezra Jack Keats Award winners have been unveiled. In the category of New Writer, the winner is Laurel Croza for her book I Know Here (Groundwood Books; illustrated by Matt James). The winner for New Artist is Tao Nyeu for Bunny Days (Dial/Penguin). Nyeu also authored the book.

Also just announced: the shortlist for the Caine Prize for African Writing. The nominees come from 126 entries from 17 African countries. The winner will be announced July 11th in Oxford.

Caine Prize for African Writing Nominees
"Hitting Budapest" by NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe), The Boston Review

"Butterfly Dreams" by Beatrice Lamwaka (Uganda), Butterfly Dreams and Other New Short Stories from Uganda

"What Molly Knew" by Tim Keegan (South Africa), Bad Company

"In the Spirit of McPhineas Lata" by Lauri Kubuitsile (Botswana), Bed Book of Short Stories

"The Mistress's Dog" by David Medalie (South Africa), The Mistress's Dog: Short Stories 1996-2010

Nominated stories can be read here.

No comments:

Post a Comment