Thursday, June 9, 2011

Orange Prize for Fiction and Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism

Orange Prize for Fiction

In a surprising win, this year's Orange Prize for Fiction went to twenty-five year old Tea Obreht for her debut novel The Tiger's Wife. Obreht is the youngest winner in the award's sixteen-year history. Other finalists for the award were: Emma Donoghue for Room, Nicole Krauss for Great House, Kathleen Winter for Annabel, and Emma Henderson for Grace Williams Says It Loud.

Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism
Out of 75 nominees, five finalists have been announced for this year's Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism.

The Tenth Parallel: Dispatches from the Fault Line Between Christianity and Islam by Eliza Griswold (Farrar, Straus, & Giroux)

The Watchers: The Rise of America's Surveillance State by Shane Harris (The Penguin Press)

Everything is Broken: A Tale of Catastrophe in Burma by Emma Larkin (The Penguin Press)

All the Devils are Here: The  Hidden History of the Financial Crisis by Bethany McLean and Joe Nocera (Portfolio/Penguin Group-USA)

The World According to Monsanto: Pollution, Corruption, and the Control of our Food Supply by Marie-Monique Robin, translated by George Holoch (The New Press)

No comments:

Post a Comment